The privacy of your data is our top priority. We will never sell your data or use it for advertising purposes. We only share personal data where necessary to provide our service.
Like most website operators, Wexplain collects non-personally-identifying information of the sort that web browsers and servers typically make available, such as the browser type, language preference, referring site, and the date and time of each visitor request. We collect non-personally identifying information to understand how our visitors use Wexplain, and how to serve them better. From time to time, Wexplain may release non-personally-identifying information in the aggregate, e.g., by publishing a report on trends in the usage of its website.
Wexplain stores user IP addresses to implement security processes necessary to protect your account.
As a discussion and decision-making platform, Wexplain stores and processes discussions, comments, proposals, outcomes, etc - “user generated content”.
We also store and process your name, email address, profile photo, etc - “your user profile”. This information can make a user personally identifiable, although you are welcome to use a pseudonym and anonymous email address to prevent this.
As a member of a Wexplain group, your content including your user profile will be shared with the members of that group. However, your email address will only be available to the group’s coordinators.
You may view or correct your personal information at any time via the ‘edit profile’ page within.
You may deactivate your user account. Personally identifying information such as your name, username and profile photo will no longer be associated with content you have posted and Wexplain will not contact you again. You are able to reactivate your account at a later date if you wish.
If you wish to delete your user account, you will not be able to reactivate your account at a later date. Your profile information will be permanently deleted from our system.
Wexplain is software used by groups of people to communicate with each other. Over time the record of these communications is an important feature of Wexplain.
If you choose to delete your Wexplain user account, we will remove your user profile including your user ID, name, email address, profile photo and other known personally identifying information. However, communication history (such as comments and votes) will be kept to preserve the integrity of discussions and decisions within your groups.
If (as a group administrator) you delete a Wexplain group, all user data for the group will be deleted.
If you wish to have comments or other data deleted from a group that you are not an administrator of, you should first contact the group administrator and request deletion of that data.
We will always maintain the overriding principle that we will not sell or rent any information you share with us. However, we may change other aspects of this policy. Any amended policy is effective upon posting to this website, and we’ll make every effort to tell you about these changes via email or through the site.